Cambodian PM Highlights Six Main Goals of the ASEM13

As the Chair of the 13th Asia-Europe Summit (ASEM13), Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen laid stress on six main goals of the virtual Summit.
The six goals include 1. Deepening inter-regional connectivity for sustainable and inclusive development and shared growth; 2. Promoting inter-regional partnership for global governance; 3. Enhancing the effectiveness of a rules-based multilateral system; 4. Harnessing innovation, digital connectivity, and the Industrial Revolution 4.0; 5. Strengthening ASEM’s visibility and relevance; and 6. Addressing multi-sectoral issues such as climate change, poverty, women empowerment, as well as other trans-national challenges, he said.
“Today’s ASEM Summit is a timely opportunity for leaders of ASEM Partners to reaffirm the importance of the Asia-Europe partnership and cooperation in addressing regional and global issues of common concerns,” he underlined.
Samdech Techo Hun Sen added that ASEM13 has set its objectives based on the principles of shared growth, sustainable development, and rules-based multilateralism. As an important multilateral platform linking Asia and Europe, he continued, ASEM is an essential and strong global force. In this spirit, ASEM’s cooperation and partnership for a solid and effective multilateralism and a rules-based international order should act as its guiding spirit.
“As ASEM is moving towards its next decade of its existence, we all have a shared responsibility to ensure that ASEM continues to be an essential and robust inter-regional platform that can bring about great benefits for its people and can make an even greater contribution to peace, stability, prosperity, and development of the world,” the ASEM 13 Chair said.
The 13th Asia-Europe Summit (ASEM13) was officially opened this afternoon (Cambodian time) with opening remarks by Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia, as Chair of the ASEM13; H.E. Mr. Charles Michel, President of the European Council as the Regional Coordinator for European Group; H.E. Mrs. Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, as the Regional Coordinator for European Group; H.E. Mr. Mikhail Mishustin, Prime Minister of the Russian Federation, as the Regional Coordinator for NESA Group; H.E. Mr. Janez Jansa, Prime Minister of the Republic of Slovenia, as the EU Council Presidency and Regional Coordinator for European Group; and H.E. Gen. Prayut Chan-o-cha, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Thailand, as the Regional Coordinator for ASEAN Group.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press