Close this search box.

The 5th Commune/Sangkat Council Election Held Successfully 

Today’s 5th Commune/Sangkat Council Election was conducted successfully and smoothly without neither violence nor intimidation, despite some bad weather conditions. 

The remarks were made by Chairman of the National Election Committee (NEC) H.E. Prach Chan at a dissemination meeting with stakeholders held at the NEC’s headquarters in Phnom Penh this afternoon. 

This election was held under the observation of 88,050 political agents, and 74,885 local observers and 110 international observers from various organisations, he said, adding that there were also 775 local journalists and 39 foreign journalists registered to cover this local election.

It also took place with health preventive measures against COVID-19 after Cambodia has vaccinated more than 93 percent of its total population, H.E. Prach Chan said.

The vote counting started right after the 23,602 polling stations closed at 3:00 pm. NEC is announcing the preliminary election results from June 5 evening until midnight and from 8:00 am to noon of June 6.

The results are broadcast on a number of media outlets, including the National Television of Cambodia (TVK), the National Radio of Cambodia (RNK), NEC website (, NEC KH and CamNEC News mobile apps, Facebook: National Election Committee, and YouTube: National Election Committee.

A total of 17 political parties – Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), Candlelight Party (CLP), FUNCINPEC Party, Khmer National United Party (KNUP), Cambodia National Love Party (CNLP), Cambodian Nationality Party (CNP), Cambodian Youth Party (CYP), Cambodia Reform Party (CRP), Khmer Will Party (KWP), Kampucheaniyum Party (KP), Grassroots Democratic Party (GDP), Ekpheap Cheat Khmer Party (ECKP), Beehive Social Democratic Party (BSDP), Cambodia Indigenous People’s Democracy Party (CIPDP), Khmer National United Party (KNUP), Reaksmey Khemara Party, and Khmer Economic Development Party (KEDP) –competed for the 1,652 communes/Sangkat throughout Cambodia. 

The previous Commune/Sangkat Council Election was held on June 4, 2017 in 22,148 polling stations across the country with the participation of 12 political parties. Some 7.04 million or 89.52 percent of the total eligible voters of 7,865,033 turned out to the polls. In that election, CPP won a landslide victory by obtaining 1,156 communes/Sangkat, while the dissolved Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP) got 489 communes/Sangkat, and Khmer National United Party (KNUP), a commune.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press