Senate Election: CPP Wins All 58 Seats

The National Election Committee of Cambodia (NEC) has officially announced the results of the 4th legislature Senate Election held on Feb. 25, 2018.

According to the NEC's resolution dated Mar. 3, 2018, the ruling Cambodian People's Party (CPP) won all the 58 Senate seats.

The other three participating political parties � the royalists FUNCINPEC Party, the Cambodian Youth Party, and the Khmer National Unity Party � got some votes, but not enough to win a seat.

There are 62 seats in the forth-term election of the senate � of them, two are nominated by His Majesty the King, another two by the National Assembly, and the rest are those who won the voting.

About 99.79 percent or 11,670 of 11,695 eligible voters cast their votes at the 33 polling stations across the Kingdom. NEC stressed that this 4th legislature Senate Election was held in a smooth, orderly and non-violent manner under the observation of 75 political parties' agents, some 300 local and international observers as well as more than 300 local and foreign journalists.

The first legislature of the Senate was established in March 1999 and the 61 senators were not elected, but nominated by His Majesty the King (2 senators) and political parties (CPP: 31, FUNCINPEC: 21, Sam Rainsy Party (SRP): 7).

In the second and third legislatures of the Senate, 57 out of 61 members were elected in an indirect election for a six-year mandate. The remaining seats were nominated by the King and the National Assembly. CPP won 45 seats, FUNCINPEC 10, and SRP 2 in the second, while in the third term, CPP obtained 46 seats and SRP got the remaining 11 seats.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press