Ruling Party Re-affirms Victory on Sunday Commune/Sangkat Council Election

Cambodia's Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, President of the ruling Cambodian People's Party (CPP), has re-affirmed the victory on Sunday Commune/Sangkat Council Election.

In a Facebook post this morning, Samdech Techo Hun Sen said yesterday night, there were some people claiming the CPP's loss, but actually CPP continues to win most of the communes/Sangkat across the country, and thus the majority of the seats at the Senate.

CPP gained more votes, or over 300,000 votes, compared to the national election in 2013, and the highest votes compared with other parties in Cambodia, he said, underlining that the figures show clearly that CPP will continue to hold the majority of the Senate seats and to lead the royal government.

Their (opposition party) plan to take control of the communes/Sangkat in 2017 and the Senate in 2018 failed, added Samdech Techo Hun Sen.

The ruling party leader also expressed thanks and wished more success to all his party members and activists at all levels and supporters.

Some 7.04 million or 89.52 percent of the total eligible voters of 7,865,033 went to the polls on Sunday. According to the preliminary figures, CPP won most of the commune/Sangkat council seats, followed by the main opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP).

Twelve political parties � CPP, CNRP, FUNCINPEC Party, League for Democracy Party (LDP), Beehive Democratic Society Party (BDSP), Grassroots Democracy Party (GDP), Khmer National United Party (KNUP), Cambodian Nationality Party (CNP), Republican Democracy Party (RDP), Cambodian Youth Party (CYP), Khmer Power Party (KPP), and Cambodian Indigenous Democracy Party (CIDP) � compete for the 11,572 seats in the 1,646 commune/Sangkat throughout the country.

In the previous Commune/Sangkat Council Election held on June 3, 2012 in 18,107 polling stations across the country with the participation of ten political parties, CPP won a landslide victory. In that election, CPP took 8,292 seats overall, with the control of 1,592 communes/Sangkat or about 97 percent of the country's 1,633 chief seats, followed by the Sam Rainsy Party (SRP), which took control of 22 communes/Sangkat, along with 2,155 seats, and the Human Rights Party which won control of 18 commune/Sangkat with 800 seats overall. The FUNCINPEC Party got a commune chief position and 151 seats, and the Norodom Ranariddh Party won only 52 seats, while the League for Democracy Party won 8 seats, and the Cambodian Nationality Party took 1 seat.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press