PM Hun Sen Recalls History of Cambodia’s Accession to ASEAN

Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Techo Hun Sen this morning marked the 19th anniversary of Cambodia's membership in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), April 30, 1999-April 30, 2018.

Many achievements have been obtained after the accession of Cambodia into this regional association, underlined the Cambodian Premier while presiding over the graduation ceremony of almost 2,000 students of Human Resources University in Phnom Penh.

In the past 19 years, we have successfully been the Chair of ASEAN twice, achieving many agreements, documents, and [issuing] some declarations [], he said.

Samdech Techo Hun Sen reiterated that Cambodia has decided to join ASEAN because of four main important points: non-interference in the internal affairs of ASEAN Member States, the principle of consensus, social and economic development, and gate for Cambodia's diplomatic expansion.

ASEAN was established on Aug. 8, 1967 with five funding members, including Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Philippines and Singapore. Brunei joined ASEAN on Jan. 8, 1984; Vietnam on July 28, 1995; Laos and Myanmar on July 23, 1997; and Cambodia on April 30, 1999.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press