NEC Releases Official Result of 4th Mandate Commune/Sangkat Council Election

The National Election Committee (NEC) released here today the official result of the fourth-mandate Commune/Sangkat Council Election held on June 4, 2017.

Among some 7.04 million or 89.52 percent of the total eligible voters of 7,865,033 who turned out to the polls, the ruling Cambodian People's Party (CPP) won more than 3.5 million votes, followed by the main opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP), about 3.05 million votes; the FUNCINPEC Party, some 132,319 votes; the League for Democracy Party (LDP), 122,882 votes; the Khmer National United Party (KNUP), 78,724 votes, it pointed out.

Based on this result, CPP obtained 1,156 communes/Sangkat; CNRP, 489 communes/Sangkat; and KNUP, a commune.

Twelve political parties � CPP, CNRP, FUNCINPEC Party, LDP, Beehive Democratic Society Party (BDSP), Grassroots Democracy Party (GDP), KNUP, Cambodian Nationality Party (CNP), Republican Democracy Party (RDP), Cambodian Youth Party (CYP), Khmer Power Party (KPP), and Cambodian Indigenous Democracy Party (CIDP) � competed for the 11,572 seats in the 1,646 communes/Sangkat throughout the country.

In the previous Commune/Sangkat Council Election held on June 3, 2012 in 18,107 polling stations across the country with the participation of ten political parties, CPP won a landslide victory. In that election, CPP took 8,292 seats overall, with the control of 1,592 communes/Sangkat or about 97 percent of the country's 1,633 chief seats, followed by the Sam Rainsy Party (SRP), which took control of 22 communes/Sangkat, along with 2,155 seats, and the Human Rights Party which won control of 18 commune/Sangkat with 800 seats overall. The FUNCINPEC Party got a commune chief position and 151 seats, and the Norodom Ranariddh Party won only 52 seats, while the League for Democracy Party won 8 seats, and the Cambodian Nationality Party took 1 seat.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press