NEC Officially Recognises 11 Political Parties for Forthcoming National Election

The National Election Committee (NEC) yesterday announced to officially recognise 11 of the 20 political parties registered for the 6th general elections in July.

Those political parties include the ruling Cambodian People's Party (CPP), Cambodian Youth Party, Cambodian Nationality Party, Khmer National United Party, FUNCINPEC Party, Khmer Temuoy (One Khmer) Party, Grassroots Democracy Party, Ponleu Thmey (New Light) Party, Beehive Social Democratic Party, League for Democracy Party, and Khmer Anti-Poverty Party.

The remaining nine political parties are in the checking process by NEC.

The 20 political parties have registered at NEC to compete in the July election during the two-week-long registration period, from April 30 to May 14.

According to the regulations and procedures of the Law on Election of Members of the National Assembly of the 6th legislature, NEC must examine and make a decision at most seven days after receiving their application forms. If NEC finds something wrong in the application forms, it will give five days for the concerned political parties to make a correction.

Cambodia will organise the sixth parliamentary elections on July 29, 2018, and NEC has already announced the period for the political campaign that will fall from July 7 to 27.

In the previous national election on July 28, 2013, eight political parties took part in the election � CPP, the dissolved Cambodia National Rescue Party, the royalist FUNCINPEC Party, League for Democracy Party, Cambodian Nationality Party, Democratic Republic Party, Khmer Anti-Poverty Party, and Khmer Economic Development Party.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press