NA Announces Mandate Validity of 44 New Lawmakers

The National Assembly of the Kingdom of Cambodia declared the validity of 44 new lawmakers who replace those of the former Cambodian National Rescue Party (CNRP), in its 9th session held here yesterday under the chairmanship of its President Samdech Akka Moha Ponhea Chakrei Heng Samrin.

Of the 44 new lawmakers, 41 are from the royalist FUNCINPEC Party, 2 from the Cambodian Nationality Party (CNP), and 1 from the Khmer Economic Development Party (KEDP).

Addressing to reporters after the parliamentary session, Prince Norodom Ranariddh, President of FUNCINPEC, said his party's senior members � H.E. You Hokry, former co-minister of interior and H.E. Dr. Nuth Sokhom, former senior minister, chairman of National AIDS Authority and minister of health � will take up the posts of First Vice President of NA and Vice President of the National Election Committee (NEC), respectively.

Beside FUNCINPEC, CNP and KEDP, NEC also distributed 6 of the NA's 55 vacant seats to the League for Democracy Party (LDP) and 5 to the Khmer Anti-Poverty Party (KAP), but LDP and KAP declined to accept these seats.

Those parties were among the eight political parties that took part in the national election on July 28, 2013.

The 55 vacant seats are from the former opposition CNRP dissolved by the Supreme Court of Cambodia on Nov. 16, 2017 for systematically plotting with foreigners to topple the legal government.

In a resolution made public on Nov. 27 afternoon, NEC distributed the remaining 11 vacant seats at the NA to the ruling Cambodian People's Party in accordance to the new amendments to the Law on Election of Members of the National Assembly.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press