MoU on Cooperation Against International Terrorism To Be Signed during ASEAN-Australia Special Summit

The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between ASEAN and Australia for Cooperation to Combat International Terrorism will be signed during the ASEAN-Australia Special Summit to be held from Mar. 16 to 18, 2018 in Sydney, Australia.

According to a press release of the Cambodian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation made public this morning, the MoU will be inked by H.E. Pehin Dato Lim Jock Hoi, Secretary-General of ASEAN, and the Honourable Julie Bishop, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Australia, under the witness of Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia, and other ASEAN and Australian Leaders.

This ASEAN-Australia Special Summit will provide an important opportunity for the ASEAN Leaders and Australian Prime Minister to have frank and candid discussions on various topics of common interest, and to share their thought and vision on the future direction of the ASEAN-Australia relations.

Besides, the Leaders will separately meet with Australian students who are studying in ASEAN countries under the New Colombo Plan and ASEAN students who are studying in Australia under Australia's scholarship.

Moreover, the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove, Governor-General of Australia, will host a luncheon for ASEAN Leaders.

On the sidelines of the summit, Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen will hold bilateral talks with the Honourable Malcolm Turnbull, Prime Minister of Australia, and attend a working breakfast with H.E. Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Prime Minister of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, and H.E. Dr. Thongloun Sisoulith, Prime Minister of the Lao People's Democratic Republic.

While in Australia, Samdech Techo Prime Minister will visit the Sydney Opera House, meet with Cambodian community as well as former Australian and Cambodian students.

The Cambodian Premier will be accompanied by Senior Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation H.E. Prak Sokhonn; Senior Minister, Vice President of the Secretariat of the National Counter-Terrorism Committee, and President of the Anti-Corruption Unit H.E. Dr. Om Yentieng; and Minister of Commerce H.E. Pan Sorasak, as well as other members of the Royal Government of Cambodia.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press