Management of Three Provinces Restructured

The Royal Government has decided to restructure the management of three provinces - Preah Sihanouk, Kampong Cham, and Preah Vihear � after the recent collapse of an under-construction seven-floor building in Preah Sihanouk province.

His Majesty the King Norodom Sihamoni yesterday agreed with the Royal Government's proposal on the restructuring by signing three separate royal decrees.

According to the royal decrees, H.E. Kuoch Chamroeun, the current Governor of Kampong Cham province, was nominated to replace H.E. Yun Min, Governor of Preah Sihanouk province, who resigned.

At the same time, H.E. Un Chanda, the current Governor of Preah Vihear province, became the new Governor of Kampong Cham province, while H.E. Prak Sovann, Deputy Governor of Svay Rieng province, was appointed the Governor of Preah Vihear province.

Cambodia currently has a capital city and 24 provinces.

Preah Sihanouk province is a small, but active southern province of Cambodia. Known locally as Kampong Som, the province is famous for its white beaches and blue sea with tropical islands around.

Kampong Cham is one of most populous provinces in Cambodia. With its Mekong River location and relatively close proximity to Phnom Penh and Vietnam, Kampong Cham has always been an important trade and transportation hub.

Preah Vihear is quite a big northern province of Cambodia. It is name after the Temple of Preah Vihear, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press