Cambodian Senators To Attend Inaugural Session Early Next Week

The 62 Cambodian senators will gather in the inaugural session of the 4th legislature of the Senate convened next Monday by His Majesty Samdech Preah Boromneath Norodom Sihamoni, King of Cambodia.

According to the Senate General Secretariat's press announcement, this inaugural session will begin at 9:00 am, on April 23, 2018.

His Majesty the King has nominated two representatives to be senators of the 4th legislature � Samdech Preah Reach Butrei Preah Anouch Norodom Arun Rasmei and H.E. Ms. Um Soumanin � while the National Assembly also elected two representatives � H.E. Ms. Chea Chan Tevy and H.E. Suon Mean.

On the same day, in the afternoon, the new senators will be sworn in at the Royal Palace.

Cambodia held the 4th legislature Senate Election on Feb. 25, 2018 and the ruling Cambodian People's Party (CPP) won all the 58 senate seats.

The other three participating political parties � the royalists FUNCINPEC Party, the Cambodian Youth Party, and the Khmer National Unity Party � got some votes, but not enough to win a seat.

There are 62 seats in the forth-term election of the senate � of them, two are nominated by His Majesty the King, another two by the National Assembly, and the rest are those who won the voting.

About 99.79 percent or 11,670 of 11,695 eligible voters cast their votes at the 33 polling stations across the Kingdom. The election was conducted in a smooth, orderly and non-violent manner under the observation of 75 political parties' agents, some 300 local and international observers as well as more than 300 local and foreign journalists.

The first legislature of the Senate was established in March 1999 and the 61 senators were not elected, but nominated by His Majesty the King (2 senators) and political parties (CPP: 31, FUNCINPEC: 21, Sam Rainsy Party (SRP): 7).

In the second and third legislatures of the Senate, 57 out of 61 members were elected in an indirect election for a six-year mandate. The remaining seats were nominated by the King and the National Assembly. CPP won 45 seats, FUNCINPEC 10, and SRP 2 in the second, while in the third term, CPP obtained 46 seats and SRP got the remaining 11 seats.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press