Cambodia Holds Fifth-Mandate Commune/Sangkat Council Election

Cambodia is holding today the Commune/Sangkat Council Election of the fifth mandate in 23,602 polling stations throughout the country, from 7:00 am until 3:00 pm.

Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, President of the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), cast his vote at the Teacher Training School in Takhmao town, Kandal province.

Other top leaders such as National Assembly President Samdech Akka Moha Ponhea Chakrei Heng Samrin, CPP Honorary President; and Senate President Samdech Vibol Sena Pheakdei Say Chhum, CPP Vice President, cast their ballots in Ponhea Krek district, Thbong Khmum province, and in Sangkat Boeung Raing, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, respectively.

More than 9.2 million people have been registered for the Commune/Sangkat Council Election held under the observation of some 75,000 local and international observers.

Besides, there are 775 local journalists and 39 foreign journalists registered to cover this local election, according to the National Election Committee (NEC).

A total of 17 political parties – Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), Candlelight Party (CP), FUNCINPEC Party, Khmer National United Party (KNUP), Cambodia National Love Party (CNLP), Cambodian Nationality Party (CNP), Cambodian Youth Party (CYP), Cambodia Reform Party (CRP), Khmer Will Party (KWP), Kampucheaniyum Party (KP), Grassroots Democratic Party (GDP), Ekpheap Cheat Khmer Party (ECKP), Beehive Social Democratic Party (BSDP), Cambodia Indigenous People’s Democracy Party (CIPDP), Khmer National United Party (KNUP), Reaksmey Khemara Party, and Khmer Economic Development Party (KEDP) – are competing for the 1,652 communes/Sangkat throughout Cambodia

The previous Commune/Sangkat Council Election was held on June 4, 2017 in 22,148 polling stations across the country with the participation of 12 political parties. Some 7.04 million or 89.52 percent of the total eligible voters of 7,865,033 turned out to the polls. In that election, CPP won a landslide victory by obtaining 1,156 communes/Sangkat, while the dissolved Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP) got 489 communes/Sangkat, and Khmer National United Party (KNUP), a commune.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press