5th ACMECS and the 6th CLMV Tourism Ministers Meetings in Siem Reap Officially Kicks Off

The 5th Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS) Tourism Ministers Meeting and the 6th Cambodia-Lao PDR-Myanmar-Viet Nam (CLMV) Tourism Ministers Meeting were officially opened in Siem Reap province this morning under the presidency of Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia.

Tourism ministers and leaders of ACMECS and CLMV member countries attended the event.

In his recorded welcome message, Samdech Techo Hun Sen spoke highly of the meetings, stressing that they really show the strong regional solidarity.

“It is a special opportunity for ACMECS and CLMV tourism leaders to assess the impacts of COVID-19 on tourism sector, set out appropriate strategies for recovery and enhance more cooperation. I highly appreciate the past and on-going efforts made by ACMECS and CLMV tourism leaders, through the biennial meetings, in enhancing the exchange of tourist flow among the member states and promoting cooperation to attract tourists from the third countries under the campaigns of ‘5 countries, one destination’ and ‘4 countries, one destination’,” he said.

The Cambodian Premier also lauded the role of tourism sector, which through the past two years of COVID-19 crisis, has been seen as more relevant in supporting the economic growth and national progress; especially its role in strengthening relations between nations, solidarity and friendship between the countries in the region.

ACMECS currently has five member countries: Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam. ACMECS aims to promote cooperation in trade and investment, industry, agriculture, transport, tourism and human resource development.

CLMV aims to promote effective sub-regional and regional cooperation among the member countries to boost sustainable economic development and uplift the welfare and quality of life of their peoples.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press